My Experience With (Failed) Risk

Risks. The word alone makes the tiny hairs on the back of my neck stand erect. The very thought of stepping outside of my well furnished bubble has never sat well with me.  In fact, it’s something that I’ve eluded to on my blog before – I like to play life safe. Walk up to that attractive guy and talk to him? Not happening. Dye my hair blonde, and channel my inner Beyonce? Absolutely not.

But what has come from that? I’m single, and my hair is boring.

Recently, however, I took the risk of leaving the fashion world for something different. I was beginning to find myself getting burnt out with styling, and wanted to try something different. So I swapped my Steve Madden Nude pumps, for some Nike Free Runs, and hopscotched into the fitness industry.

I wish I could shout from the rooftops about how amazing my life has turned out since I stepped outside of my bubble, however, it didn’t turn out as well as I hoped. In fact, it was a near disaster.

While it could be easy for me to throw my hands in the air and exclaim ” and this is why I don’t take risks!” There is a lot that I can take from my whole experience with taking a step outside of my bubble:

  1. Risks aren’t that scary.
  2. You learn so much more about yourself in a bad setting, than you do in a comfortable setting.
  3. You can always change your mind, and leave.

I was chatting with a girlfriend over some coffee the other day, chatting over my apparent failed risk.

” I’m so sorry that didn’t work out for you. I guess it was a waste of time,” she said.

While, i was inclined to say “yeah, and now I have no idea what to do,” I stopped myself. in reality, I’ve learned more in this job setting than I have anywhere else. I realize now that I LOVE to help people, hear their stories, and share my own. I learned that as much as I love fitness, I cannot work in that industry. More importantly, I learned that I am born to be a leader, and not a follower, because I’ve learned so much in my own trials in life.

So, in reply to her comment I said “I took a risk, failed, and it wasn’t the end of the world. In fact, I learned a lot”

Go, talk to that man you’ve been eyeing for months.
Go, change your look to something that’s you’ve been dying to try.
Go for it, because coming from someone who didn’t have a great experience with the dirty word risk, at the end of the day, I’m still amazing.

Leave a comment